Updated MASTER LIST for Surgery: 2 Days Away!

Ok, so my surgery is on Friday and today is Wednesday. Am I freaking out? No. But my back is sore. I am hoping they send me some type of therapeutic masseuse in the hospital. That would be great! Anyways, I wanted to update my list a little, even though I’m all over the place today! I took some photos to document my progress so far.

20130306-222155.jpg

1. Must have the Cafe Vanilla on hand, and of course mini marshmallows. Mini marshmallows = true happiness.

20130306-222250.jpg

2. Pack of thank you cards from the clearance rack. Yes, they’re pink for a reason!

20130306-222329.jpg

3. My mom got me this awesome set of travel cases for makeup and health and beauty aids. I am going to be using them to take my stuff to the hospital.

20130306-222422.jpg

3.a. Face wipes and body wipes.

20130306-222453.jpg

3.b. Cough drops, ecotools soft eye mask for comfort sleep (I will add ear plugs and Q-Tips too), tissues, Altoid smalls (mostly for my mom), hair ties, toothpaste & toothbrush, Chapstick, and the cross I got going to church this weekend with E and my goddaughter AB! Just also added a hair brush and hair ties, despite having braids, as well as a moisturizer for my dry face!

20130306-222839.jpg

4. Corner of the bathroom is set with all the essentials for when I get home. Various HABA’s, a tiny Clio razor in case anyone wants to attempt my pits, all my lotions and wipes and creams and ointments. A new back scrubber with a loofah on it, and I also invested in a backscratcher too (both from the dollar store!)

20130306-223104.jpg

5. I have a microwave eye mask with lavender and things to help with sleep and headaches, special herbs and such. My aunt also gave me that large microwaveable neck, back, and body wrap today, and my mom had the regular heating pad, complete with cat hair of course. I believe I will be all set, as I also have an electric blanket. Who needs a man when you have an electric blanket? Not me!

20130306-223257.jpg

6. Pillows, pillows, and more pillows. I have two circle ones I grabbed at KMart yesterday for less than $10 for the pair, and my dearest friend J sewed the other heart ones by hand! Thanks J! Also, I got the convertible pillow from E&D in addition to a white cover for it too! I will have to try it out tonight!

20130306-223422.jpg

20130306-223447.jpg

7. The little mermaid cold packs- we’ll see if I’ll need these or not. A lanyard in case I want to get creative and pin drains to it for showering, etc. and two of the Post-Surgical Bras I was sent to buy downtown.

20130306-223603.jpg

7.a. Here are the camisoles they had me get as well. Initially, all this was to be covered by insurance, but they only covered half and I ended up having to pay about $80 for the whole mess. These things better come in handy I tell you! If not, onto eBay they’re going!

20130306-223715.jpg

8. Last but not least, my PMB Wardrobe. It’s complete with 3 different robes in various styles, some sexy sweatpants, various button down shirts for all genders, and topped off with some gramma Jammies (PJ’s) from Walmart. Yes indeedy, I am amazing. I even got a new pair of orthotic slippers for the occasion. They are my absolute favorite thing, since I suffer from Plantar Fasciitis, on top of everything else!

20130306-223922.jpg

In addition to all of this stuff, I have also been able to gather up a whole bunch of support from family, friends, and even strangers! (Thanks Theresa who works at TJ Maxx for praying for me!) and from my readers as well. I was shocked that people read my blog and I’m thankful again for all the support. I hope this helps some woman in the future struggling with this decision. It’s got to be done! I’m certainly not going to sit around here waiting for cancer to get me! I have a life to live. I have a house to remodel, school to go back to, a career to continue, and hopefully a husband to find and marry and some kids to have! Things haven’t been easy for me, and much of my life has been one struggle after another, but people keep telling me, “God doesn’t give you more than you can handle,” and despite by lack of religion in my adult life, I am starting to believe that this may be true. More people than ever told me they would pray for me. It’s an overwhelming response to get when you’re not a person who is used to prayer. But, it certainly can’t hurt! Tomorrow, 8:30am I am going for my markings with the plastic surgeon. I used the hibiclens today and I will use it again in the morning prior to my appointment. I was told that it “sloths off flora” whatever the hell that means. Of course on top of everything else, these boobs are harboring FLORA!… Terrorists I tell you…

20130306-224923.jpg

4 thoughts on “Updated MASTER LIST for Surgery: 2 Days Away!

    • Feel free to steal away, I still have to add to it today! Mine is a compilation of many many other women’s lists! Just took a shower and I’m off to the plastic surgeon for my markings.. Debating about wearing deodorant or not.. I’ll ask when I get there and bring it with me I guess! I really savored this last shower, danced and sang too!! I was told to take off all nail polish too- fingers and toes! And no ibuprofen before surgery, so I’ve been taking Tylenol for my aches and pains. I am adding Q-Tips to my hospital bag too, since I’m sure they won’t want to give them to me and I obsessively clean my ears!! Lol!! I also put my lotion and shampoo in mini travel bottles from the dollar store, so they will be easier to use when I regain my strength. I’m sure I will add many more tips! Thanks again and take care! I will talk to u soon and keep us posted too!! 🙂

    • Thanks so much!! I’m waiting for the hospital to call with the time, instructions, etc. Waiting patiently isn’t one of my attributes… Thank you for the positive vibes too! I need them!! 🙂

Leave a comment